+THOSE OF US LOST

++++

What’s worse than being lost in one’s life?  Being lost and not even knowing it.

I think back across the span of my lifetime — now looking especially at my adulthood — and realize I have ALWAYS been lost.  Mostly I look at my own children to see what NOT being lost is like.  That’s a miracle to me.  How could I as their mother have managed to raise three wonderful children who are not lost in their lives in the slightest (they range in age from 27 to 41)?

The main thing I accomplished during my whole 18 year abusive childhood was to keep on breathing, keep on getting up when I was knocked down (which was often), and to keep putting my one foot in front of the other as I managed to continue to move forward in time.

I never knew I was lost because I had nothing to compare my state of being to.  Being lost seems to me to be an extremely personal experience.  Never could I compare my insides to anyone else’s insides.  And even if I could have I would have had no idea what I was looking FOR or AT.

I haven’t spent time in my adulthood (nor did I in my childhood) longing for what I did not have.  My problem is that I never knew I had a right to set my own course from any deep inner place that was connected to WHO I AM.

What did I want?

Mostly I operated automatically and on instinct –  flying blind.

While I knew I did not want to raise my children the way I was – as I raised them in the OPPOSITE way to how I was raised — I never knew from the start that I had a choice to have children or not.  I never knew that I had a right to intentionally set the course of my life.  I never knew it was OK for Linda to want anything for Linda.

I didn’t even know enough to know I didn’t want to be lost.

Most of my life has been a wandering life, not because I wanted to wander – wander around lost – but because I had no other option.  I COULD not make any different choices than the ones that I made.

Do I regret those decisions?  Not for the most part.  What bothers me now is seeing young women, especially unmarried pregnant ones, who I KNOW are as lost as I was at their age, lost as I have always been.

I wish I could ‘help’ them but I cannot think of any way to do so — because I know this kind of lost — the kind that comes from troubled, traumatic and unstable childhoods that creates a kind of fog within which a person cannot see how lost they truly are.  In fact, they have no idea they are lost at all because they have nothing to compare it to.

What does NOT being lost look like?

I can see ‘not lost’ in other people now besides in my children – but it is my children I care most about, and the children they bring into the world. That they are doing well is most important to me.

++

Is the intergenerational transmission of unresolved trauma REALLY about this being so lost and not knowing it?  Does all the trauma drama that follows draw its sustenance from the lostness that can swallow a person up sometimes from before they are even born?

If anything else other than survival happened along the way for me in my childhood it was really a surprise.  It was not the pattern of my life.  What clues did I possibly have about who I was, what I needed, what I wanted, what I had to offer to the world, how to make friends, how to settle down, how to have a life of my own that did not center around being a mother?

Even though I have lived in this same area for the past 12 years, I am still often wandering in my heart and mind.  If I had the money in my life I would be able to travel to see the people I love that live a long ways from me.  I would be able to travel to the places that I also miss.  I would have many more options if I had money – but being poor because I cannot make it out there in the ‘real world’ leaves me – well, lost and mostly alone.

I don’t want other young women who had a very rough start to end up like this!!

++++

Please click here to read or to Leave a Comment »

++++

8 thoughts on “+THOSE OF US LOST

  1. Well this happens to many people.They kinda of acknowledge they’re struggling and are desperate but they don’t know where to search for help.They know that they were abused or mistreated as a child but they really have no idea what happens as a result of the abuse.These people are lost.These people generally repeat the trauma cycle.I think they can identify that they have some of their parent’s abuse patterns but they feel helpless to stop it…they don’t have the skills to stop the pattern.My step son is an example…he will repeat the cycle.He already believes he’s helpless.He already believes there’s no help for him.That mindset will destroy any chance or hope that he will be saved.I’ve tried to educate him, no use, he’s lost.

    • AND, RAD sufferers can be really superficial and phony.We refuse to accept or look deeper into our struggles.Why did this relationship fail?Why did my boss fire me?Why am I gaining weight?Most RAD sufferers blame, and run away from responsibility.I told my step son, “your relationship with us failed because you refused to stop lying, you manipulated the school into believing we were abusive, and you were aggressive with your brothers”.He changes the subject…and whines to his foster mother that he has no relationship with his family.Lack of acceptance, insight and responsibility will keep him swimming in the ocean of life without a life jacket..he’ll just sink to the bottom and then, blame everyone else for his lack of functioning. I tried to tell him to ditch the phoniness, *shrug*..he refuses.He thinks being superficial is more comfortable and simple.When he is alone in a shabby apartment, we’ll see how happy and comfortable he is.I can’t force and change his mind.

  2. Such a strikingly true and accurate description of the heart of an UN-affirmed child. I can completely relate to these feelings. Thank you for sharing. I have been working on healing my heart for years now, and have come to accept that I have lived most of my life with a severe attachment disorder. I will poke around your blog and read more, every new perspective helps.

Leave a Reply

