+THINKING ABOUT ABUSED CHILDREN AND THEIR FRIENDSHIP WITH ANIMALS

++++++++++++++

The cover story for the most recent issue of TIME magazine, ‘The Surprising Science of Animal Friendships’ is behind what is called a ‘buywall’ – meaning that you must pick up a hardcopy issue of the magazine or subscribe online to read the article.

Here is a short article by the author of the article hosted on Discover Magazine’s webpage:

Animal Friendships: My cover story for Time magazine

++

I am reminded of two of my blog stories that long time readers will have seen before.  The first is about friendship between chickens.  The other is about friendship between a woman and a very large bull snake:

+EARTH DAY: In Honor of the Grieving Chicken

+HITCHING A RIDE WITH KIND STRANGERS

Here is another interesting blog post from the past:

+THINKING ABOUT ANIMALS, PEOPLE, COMPASSION

++

An important segment of my childhood revolved around my age 8 friendship with my pet black bunny rabbit named Peter.  That the end of Peter brought greatest grief to me can never erase the power that my bond with this pet had to expand the circle of emotion possible within my child-self as I lived in a dim, darkened disaster of a childhood.

And yet IF – and that small world is a huge one considering the abuse of my childhood – my single living attachment had been to some human rather than to a small fuzzy rabbit – perhaps the loss of my one and only friend in the world would not have felt quite so devastating to me.

Yet in light of this TIME magazine article I find myself thinking this morning that if chickens and snakes can form friendships, then perhaps my Peter also had a friendship relationship with me!  I’ve never before today considered this possibility – that my friendship with Peter had meaning not only to ME, but also had meaning to my pet.

Eventually – perhaps quite soon as I get back to working through the drafts of my first book – I will need to return to this cold rainy Alaskan evening.  I will need to face my memory of this story one last time as I work to write my final version.  These links are to other versions of the story – but they cannot speak of my whole version until I write this story one last time:

+REWRITING MY STORY OF PETER THE BLACK RABBIT

*Comment on Age 8 – My Black Rabbit Peter

+BLACK RABBIT

*AGE 8 – MY BLACK RABBIT, PETER

++

I have written before on this blog (3 years ago) about what I consider important about how we severe infant-child abuse survivors relate to our own memories.  It takes great care and wisdom to tell or to write some of the stories we know.  There is much information under the surface of the words and images that become entwined with our stories – this is very often the case even when we remember the special relationships we had with the animal world of our childhood.

*THE DANGERS OF MEMORY RETRIEVAL

*FURTHER UNDERSTANDINGS ABOUT DISSOCIATION

+++++++++

Click here to read or to Leave a Comment »

++++++++++++++

 

Leave a Reply

